Google+ Badge

6.29.2012

Summer of Indie Speaks To Author Brooklyn Hudson


Here today with Summer of Indie is author Brooklyn Hudson. Hudson is the author of the supernatural thriller and horror novel Wishbone. For those already familiar with the story, Hudson is currently working on Wishbone Part II, as well as a screen adaption.  

Before getting into the details of their book, we asked author Brooklyn Hudson to give us some brief details about their background:

Brooklyn Hudson was born and raised in New York City's borough of Staten Island. She currently resides in Los Angeles where she produces The Springsteen Experience, a theatrical concert event; she is a replica-rock (tribute show) concert promoter and band manager, and has been writing fiction since she was old enough to hold a pencil. She credits Stephen King for her devout adoration of adult dramatic horror and is currently fast at work on the WISHBONE screen adaption and WISHBONE Part II.

After finding out more about the author, we asked Hudson to give us a deeper look into Wishbone:

A Manhattan power couple survive a tragedy and attempt a fresh start only to be plagued by unexplained and disastrous occurrences...be careful what you wish for.

At the age of nine, growing up in the French countryside, Julien Grenier witnessed the brutal murder of his grandfather. Now, at forty-five, he continues to be plagued by horrific nightmares and reenactments of that tragic event.
Living a successful though austere lifestyle on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, Julien has recreated himself, building emotional walls that even his young wife cannot penetrate.
Though somewhat moody, Julien is a good man with a heart of gold, and a great sense of loyalty and responsibility; enabling his wife, Rachael, to turn a blind eye to his tightly-kept secrets.
Rachael is thirty-two years old; an art dealer and playful free spirit, but after a home invasion assault leaves her emotionally unstable and destroys their care-free and content world, they relocate to a safer environment with the hope of a fresh start.
Kings Hollow is a quaint town, nestled in the serene Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. At first, their new home appears to be the miracle they prayed for, until a traditional children's game begins to destroy their bliss; Rachael is no longer herself and Julien is experiencing a string of bad luck and unfortunate accidents.
At the center of it all is seventeen-year-old Sarah, a part-time caretaker on the property.
Can Julien and Rachael escape the nightmare of Kings Hollow...or is this just Wishful thinking?

WISHBONE is a multi-layered thriller incorporating several sub-plots; in the vein of Pet Sematary, What Lies Beneath, Misery and Stir of Echoes. Dramatic horror at its best, Brooklyn Hudson takes you on a suspenseful roller coaster ride of emotional turmoil and shocking events.

 Available: Trade Paperback & ebook at Amazon & Smashwords

After finding out more about the thrilling Wishbone, we interviewed author Brooklyn Hudson to find out more about their work: 
Q: Can you tell us more about why you started writing?

A: I began writing at such a young age that I can only attribute this to a calling.  I think I figured out pretty young, or perhaps someone had told me, that the television shows, movies, (and books) were penned by invisible people who made up stories purely for my entertainment. I was a story teller at a very young age.  I would talk an ear off any chance I got and would openly embellish because it earned me attention and laughs from adults.  I was a dreamer…who often dreamed out loud.  My earliest memory of writing was during a first grade assembly.  Bored to tears by the speaker, I began writing these short paragraphs of fiction showcasing each of my classmates.  My teacher noticed and I thought I was about to get into trouble.  She scanned the notebook and when we finally returned to our classroom, she suggested I read them to the class for show Show n’ Tell. From there on, I was hooked and continued to write throughout life.

Q: Can you give us some more background about your books?
 A: I have thirteen novels collecting dust bunnies beneath my bed.  I’ve never done anything with them, until now.  I wrote WISHBONE and decided to write full-time. I have many ideas to get on paper but will eventually go back to some of those novels collecting dust and possibly re-work them for publishing.  Keeping a roof over my head has kept fiction writing no more than a passionate hobby for the past decades.  My aim now is to focus on writing as a career. However, writing has earned me money in the past, most often in the form of animal behavior and dog training manuals.
Q:Can you give us more details about your book?

A: WISHBONE is a supernatural thriller with horror undertones.  The message behind it is the dangers of greed, but if you delve deeper, it is a tale of love and loyalty. I chose to publish this novel first and now because in forming two groups of beta-readers (most of which were then strangers) the story caused such a strong response. People were talking about the book constantly and really interacting the way people gather around the water cooler to discuss reality shows…with passion and opinions.  It seemed to affect them to the point of being protective of the characters and even caused a few fights in the chat room.  As I watched this all unfold I couldn’t help but think…this is it! This is the one. They loved these characters as much as I did. I had entertained them to a level where the characters had felt real. I still and always will worry about my writing style and overall skill, but when it boils down, the most important thing is to create a compelling story with realistic characters.  And while I strive for perfection, everything else is what editors are for.
Q: Where can people get your book?
A: Amazon Author Page: (Print & Kindle) http://www.amazon.com/author/brooklynhudson
Smashwords: (Nook & More) www.smashwords.com/books/view/135635
Q: In your book, who is your favorite character?

A: My absolute favorite character in WISHBONE is Julien Grenier (main protagonist).  I kind of feel bad for all future men in my life because Julien is who I will now hold them up against (wink wink!). I adore him for all of his flaws.  But if you were to ask me who my favorite character is to write is; I would have to say Sarah.  Sarah was such a challenge because with no visual medium, I was forced to find a way to convey a mute, autistic’s wants, needs, and behaviors, minus the use of dialogue. Giving her a dialogue-less voice became second nature at some point, but readers have brought this up to me often, stating that they grew to fully understand her, so somehow I did step up to meet that challenge and readers noticed.
Q: What's your favorite indie book that you've read recently?

A: It’s very hard for me to pick favorites but I recently read a book called DENIED INNOCENCE by William Alexander which I found very compelling.

Q: What's your favorite book of all time?

A:  Cujo by Stephen King.  It is my favorite because it was my first adult novel and also the book that introduced me to King and the genre I wanted to write in. From there on the deal was done.

Q: Who are some of your favorite authors?

A: Oh, allow me to be original here…Stephen King.  I know you probably hear that a lot, but it’s the truth.  King is our rockstar of writing and while his style and skill can be debated till doomsday, he is clearly the greatest author success story of my lifetime. The guy can tell a story and we can’t take that away from him.  If I can be 1/16th as prolific as King, I can someday go to my grave feeling a success. Peter Benchley is another favorite. Michael Crichton too. 

Q: Do you have any advice for new writers?
A: Write, write, and write some more.  And write for yourself…not to get rich, not to be famous.  Just write, and write what you love to write about.  Your audience might not be your best friend or your college professor, but I guarantee you there is an audience out there for what you like to write about, just waiting to read and dig your work. 
Q: What's next for you (in your writing)?
A: I am currently finishing up the second draft of the WISHBONE screen adaption and also working on WISHBONE Part II.  I hope to have both completed and rockin n’ rollin by summer, then move on to some of the other ideas I have sketched out in my brain. One in particular has a thread of Munchausen Syndrome (not by-proxy) running through it; another has to do with revenge and superficiality.

Q:  Anything else you'd like to tell us?
A: 1. I write, produce and direct replica-rock shows. Not unlike tribute bands, only more of a theatrical concert production.
2. I trained animals for film, television, and commercials (humainly!). I am a lover of animals and have worked with both domestic and wildlife; rescue, rehabilitation, and training, for decades.
3. I am a chain-smoking, nocturnal, reality show junky.

Author Brooklyn Hudson also gave us ten interesting facts about herself to share with readers:
1) Born: NYC
2) Currently lives in L.A.
3) Producer of theatrical concert events and replica-rock shows (Las Vegas and Touring)
The Springsteen Experience (currently) www.thespringsteenexperience.info
The U2 Experience
The Tom Petty Experience
The Neil Young Experience
...and more
4) Reads mostly writing manuals these days, but Horror/Thrillers
5) Inspired by: Stephen King, Peter Benchley, Dean Koontz
6) Is writing full time
7) Currently working on:
WISHBONE II (working title)
WISHBONE Screen Adaption
Sticks & Stones (working title)
Eye of the Beholder
Chat Room (working title)
8) Short term goal:
To complete the WISHBONE screen adaption, WB II, and relocate back to NYC
9) Long term goal:
To see WISHBONE on the big screen, own a state-of-the-art log home on the coast of Maine
10) Favorite Quote: We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams. ~Willy Wonka
To find author Brooklyn Hudson online you can visit:

Twitter: @brooklynhudson_


1 comment:

  1. This interview was done a while back. here is the proper link for WISHBONE...

    http://amzn.to/WISHBONE-Amazon-Kindle_Paperback

    Thanks!

    ReplyDelete